€12.00 – €85.00
• High quality digital print
• Printed on 350gsm stock
• Rolled prints are delivered in a postal tube
• Mounted prints are delivered flat in a board backed envelope
• Framed prints carefully secured in bubble wrap and cardboard
Our take on the iconic clock that hangs above Clerys’ central doors on O’Connell Street (opposite the statue of Jim Larkin). “Under Clerys’ clock” is a well-known rendez-vous, both for Dubliners, and visitors from the countryside, and is famous in the city’s culture as a place where many romances begin. Our Clerys Clock illustration makes the perfect gift for love birds of all ages.
Clerys was a long-established department store on O’Connell Street in Dublin, Ireland, a focal point of the street. The business dates from 1853, however the current building dates from 1922, having been completely destroyed in the 1916 Easter Rising. Clerys completed a five-year restoration programme in 2004 at a cost of €24 million. A renovation project is in place to bring the building back to its former glory including a new proposed rooftop destination.
The history of Clerys began in May 1853 when Mc Swiney, Delany and Co. opened ‘The New or Palatial Mart’ on the site of the present store in what was then Sackville Street. In 1883, the premises was taken over and renamed by M. J. Clery (d.1896), a native of Bulgaden, Co. Limerick. William Martin Murphy was also involved in the business.
Clerys was bought out of receivership in 1941 by Denis Guiney (1893-1967) for £250,000. The receivers were Craig Gardner & Co. Denis Guiney died in 1967 and his widow, née Mary Leahy, continued to be Chairperson until her death on 23 August 2004 at the age of 103 years.
Clerys was placed into receivership on 17 September 2012. Receivers Paul McCann and Michael McAteer of Grant Thornton said the store’s future could be secured.